Latest acquisitions

11 02 2011

I’m usually one of the last people to emerge from the international arrivals hall, inadvertently causing as much nuisance as possible to those I’m travelling with and/or those who are waiting to collect me, having spent an immoderate length of time pacing up and down the aisles of duty-free spirits. In contrast to other countries, Australia is reasonably generous in allowing 2.25L of duty-free spirits to be brought into the country. Given the outrageous amounts we have to pay for imported hooch, it’s the least they can do.

Anyway, the next best thing to international travel is having family members who travel internationally on a regular basis.

Duty free goodies

The Balvenie DoubleWood, Johnnie Walker Black Label, The Glenlivet Archive 21.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had something from The Balvenie, so I’m looking forward to opening that up… although I need to finish a few off a few other bottles before opening up new ones.

As mentioned in a few posts back, I wasn’t too thrilled with The Glenlivet French Oak Reserve (didn’t stop me from polishing it off, however) but reviews for the Archive 21 have been mostly positive.

And the JW Black… well, it never hurts to have an extra bottle lying around.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2011
whiskywall

2.25L – nice, we only get 1L here. But the duty is only 3%, which I can live with.

15 02 2011
n0ndakure

Ah, see, I’d much rather have a 1L limit but a duty of 3% instead of having to pay, say, anywhere from $100 to $120 for a bottle of Lagavulin 16. :P Even though the Australian dollar is basically at parity with the US dollar, our American friends can still (as far as I’m aware) pick it up for $70-$80. And don’t even get me started on the cost of Japanese whiskies here…!

Leave a Reply

